Counseling & Support

Toggle Section Menu

School Counselors

Who Are School Counselors?

At Springs Charter Schools, our counselors are here to help you. Each student is assigned a particular counselor.  If you are unaware who your counselor is, contact the Pupil Services department at 951-252-8833 to find out.

Dr. Peter Alvino
Interim Assistant Superintendent – Pupil Services
peter.alvino@springscs.org
(951) 252-8831

Chris Lemke
Director of Guidance
chris.lemke@springscs.org
(951) 252-8834, or (760) 310-1647

Kristin Berry
Lead Counselor
kristin.berry@springscs.org
(760) 330-7244

Christopher Lowe
Counselor
christopher.lowe@springscs.org
Girard: (951) 222-7486
Acacia: (951) 225-7624

Andrew Young
Counselor
andrew.young@springscs.org
(951) 225-7207

Mike Block
Counselor
mike.block@springscs.org
(951) 225-7250

Amber Sedino
Counselor
amber.sedino@springscs.org
(951) 225-7400

Leanne Windmiller
Counselor
leanne.windmiller@springscs.org
(951) 225-7500

Shaina Sullivan
Counselor
shaina.sullivan@springscs.org
Otay: (951) 225-7791
La Fuente: (951) 395-2591

Shenise Tett
Counselor
shenise.tett@springscs.org
Santa Ana: (951) 225-7139
Corona: (951) 225-7553

Tanya Gillick
Counselor
tanya.gillick@springscs.org
(951) 225-7350

Victor Yoshida
Counselor
Victor Yoshida
(951) 225-7650

Counselor Role in High School Advisement

The guidance department maintains that the education and development of student potential is vested in the individual, family, school and community and is therefore committed to a collaborative process that is inclusive of all stakeholders.

Departmental functions include:

  • Professional counseling & support services
  • New student enrollment and program placement
  • RTI (Response to Intervention) services including: RTI, speech referrals and 504 Plans

Guidance staff is committed to the following student related services:

  • Student advocacy and assistance toward independence and responsibility in action
  • Participate as an integral part of the school in addressing the complex issues that students are confronted with in today’s society
  • Early identification and advisement for college bound students
  • Crisis intervention – Response, staff development, written school policies & processes
  • Coordination of student services with all departments (Special Education, Student Records, Instruction and Curriculum, Discipline, etc)
  • Develop systematic academic advisement policies and practices to insure that all high school students are placed in courses appropriate to meeting both SCS graduation requirements, enrollment policies and student post graduation goals
  • Develop increased understanding in the educational community of students’ social, emotional and developmental needs and proven strategies for responding to all students
  • Foster the belief that every individual is capable of learning and deserving of respect
  • Support the belief that education must prepare students to live and work in a complex and ever-changing global society
  • To foster reflection, re-evaluation, and openness to change as key elements toward program and individual improvement

Advisement Functions:

  • Develop four year academic plans for all Springs Charter School programs
  • Develop individualized four year academic plans for all high school students
  • Provide staff development and training to all high school staff, teachers and directors
  • Collaborate with all program directors on course advisement issues and scheduling
  • Provide advisement for parents and students ongoing development of the student’s four year academic plan

Apply Now

Testimonials

After working with three different charter schools over an eleven year period, I have to say this charter school offers the best classes and the support my high school child needs.

- Collen M., Parent
Apply Today Live Chat Facebook Twitter Youtube